4.5 47 ratings (gr)
Powered by Amazon and Goodreads
IndieBookCloud is an Amazon Affiliate

The Summer of 1974 (The Gavrielle Series Book 1)

by Yael Politis
New from the author of The Lonely Tree and the Olivia series.
Two strangers from opposite sides of the globe, both at a crossroads in their lives, meet in Rome. They could hardly be more different, so why do they feel so connected?
Gavrielle Rozmann (daughter of Ilana Rozmann from The Lonely Tree) is on leave from a career in the Israeli army. After suffering personal loss and the general trauma of the Yom Kippur War – and the horrific terror attacks that followed it, she is also dealing with a personal crisis. Born an orphan, she has received information that a man in Florida might be able to help her find the father she has never known. Should she get on a plane for Florida? Instead, she boards one for Rome – for a vacation and time to think. There she meets Charlie Freeman (from Whatever Happened to Mourning Free?).
Charlie, a young black man, has just graduated from the University of Michigan and Charlene, the white woman who has given him a home, has big plans for him. She believes he could become a true leader, following in the footsteps of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.
But her plans have little to do with the future he envisions for himself. What better place for a student of art and architecture to take time for reflection than the open air museum called Rome?
These two strangers – who seem to have absolutely nothing in common – discover they share a basic reality that other people may find difficult to understand. The Summer of 1974 draws you into the lives of believable, well-developed characters. People you care about, even when you don’t approve of their actions. Though set in a specific historical/political context, this book is about personal relationships – love, friendship, and family.


Is there an issue with this book?

Page Count


Middle Eastern
Goodreads Text Reviews


Listed Publisher
Publication Date
Feb 16 2019
Yael Politis